eMotional Music Mondays: What happened to Zig-Zag from Holes?

Hello Internet and my Mom.

Another week into the year and I’m still sad. I hope you’re as sad as I am. I have some music for you guys to check out. This is music that I like a whole bunch and I hope you do too. So stop listening to Los Lonely Boys and hit up this music instead.

Youth Lagoon – The Year of Hibernation (2011)

My best friend at college just got a bunch of albums on vinyl, and this is one of them, so I’ve had the pleasure of revisiting music that I haven’t listened to in a while. Youth Lagoon is the stage name of Trevor Powers and under it, He creates very dreamy, psychedelic songs that really hit hard. In the heart area. The first album (released in 2011) has the standout track “17” which I highly suggest listening to alone in your room.

Kevin Morby – Harlem River (2013)

Harlem River is the first album from Kevin Morby, best known for his work as the bass player for Woods and The Babies. This album is a essentially a love letter to New York City and has a very relaxing folk style to it, a la Bob Dylan, Lou Reed, and current artist Kurt Vile. The album relies mostly on acoustic guitars, light organs and drumming, and most of all Morby’s soft voice and narrative lyrics. While not exactly an over the top sad album, a nice album to ponder and become nostalgic to.

The Postal Service – Give Up (2003)

This is an obvious choice for sad music. Ben Gibbard’s ability to write songs detailing heart break and alcoholism is nothing new (see also: Death Cab for Cutie).  On this side project, Ben Gibbard, Jimmy Tamborello, and Jenny Lewis, create an album based around sad lyrics and electronic music. The opening track “The District Sleeps Alone Tonight” is one of my favorite songs to come from Ben Gibbard’s sad, sad, sad mind.

Thx 4 reading internet. And Mom. Good luck with school, work, friends, family, girls, boys, cats, dogs, fictional characters, anxiety inducing appointments at the dentist, and any other thing that might upset you. I know that things get rough sometimes so it’s always nice to have music to listen to. To reiterate what I said in my very first post ever: Bon Iver is the go to cry music. Look up “Beach Baby” and the lyrics and message me on tumblr about it.

Stay easy breezy, cover girl.

Devon Mello

Leave a Reply

