Thirsty? How about a butterbeer?

Harry Potter turned 32 on Tuesday. Does that make you feel old? That’s okay. I feel old, too, and I’m ten years younger than our beloved boy who lived. J.K. Rowling, the woman behind his creation, turned 47 on Tuesday. So in honor of their birthdays (and our first Thirsty Thursday, where we bring you delicious foods and drinks that you just have to try), it seems appropriate to toss back a butterbeer or two and maybe enjoy some cauldron cakes, right?

One of my favorite blogs, Pastry Affair, did a whole series of posts last summer detailing how to make some favorite treats from the Harry Potter series. You can learn how to make Honeydukes treats and butterbeer cupcakes, as well as cauldron cakes and, of course, butterbeer. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a decent cook but not a good baker — I’m too impatient to do everything in order and wait for it all to cool and stir that often. But I have to say, I’m tempted to try for those cauldron cakes.

Warning: Kristin Rosenau is pretty pro at making these goodies. Unless you’re pro, too, yours probably won’t be as pretty. But feel free to try burning down your kitchen. (Kidding.)

Because her recipes are complex, I thought it might be nice to offer up an alternative (though decidedly less delicious, once you compare the ingredients) recipe for butterbeer that I think does the trick quite nicely. It’s been adapted/simplified from Party Rehabb:

You will need:

  • cream soda (brand of your choice)
  • Dekuyper’s ButterShots liqueur
  • marshmallow creme (optional)

Instructions:

  • Measure 2.5 tbsp (1 shot) of ButterShots liqueur into a tumbler
  • Measure 1 cup of cream soda into tumbler, stir
  • In a small bowl, combine 2 tbsp marshmallow creme with 1 tbsp ButterShots liqueur
  • Microwave on high for 30 seconds, stir and pour mixture into tumbler
  • Enjoy!

(If you choose not to use the marshmallow creme and just enjoy the cream soda/ButterShots liqueur combo, you won’t  be missing much. But I hate marshmallow creme, so maybe I’m just biased.)

70 thoughts on “Thirsty? How about a butterbeer?

  1. I went to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, and tried a butterbeer. But we got it frozen, and it was delicious! We kept the cups, of course. But anyway, congrats on being Freshly Pressed. 🙂 Potter on!

      • No problem. It’s amazing…practically feels like you stepped into the story! The simulator there is incredible as well. The wait is long, but it sure is worth it!

  2. Sounds good! But being even less of a cook – plus I want to experience this with my kids – I think I will wait and taste it at HP park this winter. Can’t wait! HP is 32! Yikes!

  3. I think this is almost the same recipe I used for the midnight premiere of the last movie 🙂 It’s so delicious! It made me think – I bet some marshmallow liqueur or marshmallow vodka would make a really tasty addition to this recipe! Thanks for sharing!

  4. I used a similar recipe for a Deathly Hallows themed party a few years ago! It was extremely sweet, but very tasty. But if it’s too sweet for you or your friends/family/guests/etc., I recommend using club soda or ginger ale instead of cream soda. With each one you get a slightly different flavour, but it’s still tasty and the sweetness is a lot less overwhelming if you’re not crazy about sugary flavour.

    • These are great suggestions. I’m a fan of sweet drinks, but I have lots of friends who aren’t, so I’ll keep these substitutions in mind for future mixes!

  5. Hallelujah!!! ten plus years of being a harry potter fan, and I’ll finally be able to try those goods they have at hogsmeade!! Cheers!!

  6. I’m off the the making of Harry Potter next week. I may just use this and have a celebratory drink before i go!

  7. Is there an alternative to the liquor for those of us who don’t drink or will it taste okay if we just leave it out?
    Thanks!

  8. So when I was at Harry Potter world in Florida, I tried out that Butterbeer, It was $10 for the drink and the tankard, and it was like the best thing I’ve ever had. Really. Literally the best thing. The pumpkin juice was good too, I guess.

    • I’ve always wondered what pumpkin juice would taste like. I’m a big fan of pumpkin flavor generally, so I’m sure I’d like it. Good to know the butterbeer at WWoHP is that good, though! I hope to try it soon.

  9. Yum….buttershots liquor is so yummy! I’ve been to Universal, but I never wanted to spend the money for the drink, but I think I’ll definitely have to give this recipe a whirl! Sounds right up my alley! Thanks!

    • It’s one of my favorite types of schnapps! A previous commenter said the money was well worth it, but I understand the hesitancy. If you try this recipe, report back and let us know how you like it!

  10. Too bad for my son that he won’t be able to try this. Though he is a huge Harry Potter fan, he is not 32 yet, or 10 for that matter. I will have to have a toast of butterbeer to Harry and JK for him. Cool. This sounds awesome. Thanks! And congrats on FP!

  11. This recipe makes me wish it were cold here, because it sounds like something that would be tasty while sitting next to a blazing fire. I guess I’m imagining myself in Hagrid’s cabin or the common room. Maybe I’ll see Sirius’ face in the fire…

  12. Pingback: Velociriot Special Announcement: IndieGoGo Launch! | Velociriot!

Leave a Reply

